When I’m working with buyers the majority of my clients tend to be young, newlywed first-timers.  That’s probably because I’m a young newlywed and so are my friends and so are the friends they refer to me.

Lot’s of couples jump right into being first-time homebuyers as soon as the honeymoon is over.  Which house to buy is usually the first major decision of a marriage.

I’ve found in my work with newlyweds that prior to getting hitched most couples don’t talk about the specifics of their real estate needs.  Couples talk about how many kids to have and they know if their partner is a “dog person” or a “cat lover,” but they don’t know if the person they’re marrying is that rare bird who is dying to own a 1970s split-level straight out of The Brady Bunch.

If you’re looking to tie the real estate knot with your spouse, my advice to you is, “talk to each other!”  Talk about what you want and what you need in your first home together.  Decide together what the perfect home is and don’t be afraid to compromise so that you’ll be able to start your life together in a home that suits you both.  This worksheet should help you decide what’s important.  Just make sure you fill it out together.

