You’ve decided to buy your first home – Yay!  You’re a smart cookie so you’re not going into this process blind.  Problem: you’ve never done this before and you don’t even know what it is that you don’t know.

You think, “I’ll head down to my local library or bookstore and I’ll grab a book or two on the subject so I know what’s going on.”  Problem: there are a zillion books on the subject and you have no idea which ones are worth reading.

I just finished reading one that was worth it…

141-50.gifThe National Association of Realtors Guide to Home Buying is a great resource.  It outlines the entire process of purchasing a home while paying particular attention to the needs first time buyers.  Topics covered include:

• Choosing a home that fits a buyer’s life and family
• Picking the right mortgage product
• Making offers that sellers can’t refuse
• Handling appraisals, inspections, title policies, and insurance
• Dealing with homeowner associations and management companies
• Doing the final walk-through and closing

The guide was written by Blanche Evans, editor of Realty Times.

I’m going to keep a few copies on hand to loan my first-time buyer clients.

If you read this guide let me know what you think.  Also, if you’ve read anything that really helped you let me know about it so I can check it out.

