I’m a sucker for homes built in the 1920s and so are a lot of my clients.  Who can resit hardwood floors, built-ins and all the rest of the charm and character that comes with a house from that era?  Not me.

I get contacted often by first-time buyers who would kill for a historic home in East Lansing’s Chesterfield, Bailey, or Glencairn neighborhoods.  Then they tell me they’re pre-approved for a $150,000 mortgage.  Whoa, $150,000 isn’t going to get them very far in East Lansing.  But they shouldn’t despair, there are options for historic home lovers on a first-time buyers budget.

Lansing is full of neighborhoods built in the 1920s.  I know, Lansing isn’t East Lansing, but there are some great neighborhoods.  My favorite historic Lansing neighborhood is the Westside Neighborhood.  The basic outline of the neighboorhood is south of Michigan Ave., west of MLK, north of I-496 and east of Verlinden Ave./St. Joseph Park.  If you’ve never been over there take a drive through.  The neighborhood isn’t officially recognized as a historic district, but owners have taken the responsibility upon themselves to maintain the character and integrity of their homes. 

Can you tell which of these homes are in East Lansing and which are in Lansing’s Westside Neighborhood?

148714159401156628130476135396152454

Check the comments to see if your answers are right.

